DivaMomsNYC

Hey Mom we have a Trip tomorrow. Oh yea and that girl in my class had her baby. What’s for Dinner?

Posted on: April 14, 2010


I wish I made up that headline just to attract attention to my post but I didn’t. It was a real conversation between my 14-year-old son and I. So how do you react when you have a kid that’s still into Video Games, Friends, Pizza and Cartoons but comes home to tell you that his classmate has given birth as if he was asking for a new pair of sneakers? My first reaction is a selfish one because I am glad it’s not my kid, my second reaction is why is a 14-year-old getting pregnant and where is her mother? Lastly why is this subject not as surprising to my child as it is to me? Females have been having babies since the beginning of time, but there is a rapid increase of Young Mothers and it is downright scary. I had my son at 18 not exactly an adult but not a child either and to be quite frank regardless of age 15 years later I have yet to revisit the experience. Raising children is not an easy task, there are days when I honestly feel like I could cry non stop because of all the worries and fears. There isn’t a book on how to raise every child because no 2 kids are alike. I learned a lot as I went along and I am still learning. One of the things that I appreciate most about being a mom is the teaching aspect. I try to teach my son something new everyday about life and being a good person. These are the lessons that will help make him a man. Now at 33 years of age, employed, educated, creative, resourceful and resilient I still don’t feel like I know it all when it comes to Parenting so it just makes me wonder what these children are doing when they decide to bring children in to the world. Sex Education and Health classes are non-existent in most schools and a lot of Parents have issues talking to their children about sex. So what do we do? How do we help these kids? There has to be a way to show them beyond episodes of Teens in Trouble on Maury that having sex at an early age can mean the end of their life. A baby is a gift. A disease not so much. I would love to go around to schools and communities and talk to girls and boys about this. They need to see that this is not an option for their childhood. I know several young/teen moms and speak to them on a regular basis and I am in the process of writing a Teen Parenting Guide. Not to encourage girls to have babies but for the ones that are parents on how to properly take care of them, how to budget, how to maintain a healthy mind and body for themselves as well as their baby. Most Parenting books are written from the perspective of Married, Older Women who want to have children not from the 13-year-old sitting next to your daughter in Math Class.

DivaMomNYC

1 Response to "Hey Mom we have a Trip tomorrow. Oh yea and that girl in my class had her baby. What’s for Dinner?"

I’ve been following this woman on Twitter – @PersonaMomGrata. She’s got probably the most awesome and thoughtful perspectives on teaching your children about sexuality – healthy, no-nonsense, truthful feedback. I just read this article, and wonder what you think: http://shelovessex.com/2010/08/birds-and-bees/

Leave a Reply

Follow the DIva

Categories

