DivaMomsNYC

Sad Inspiration. . . . .

Posted on: May 26, 2010


So I have been agonizing over what to write for the last few weeks because I have felt uninspired. There have been so many things going in my life whether its been work related, or personal that have literally left me mentally drained. To be honest it has left me spent, to the point where I haven’t been able to think about anything else. 

Last Friday I was off from work because I needed to take care of something with my son. (Something I will get into in a later post). After our appointment we returned home to just relax and my son tells me that he read on Facebook on of his classmates died. I am dumbfounded because I had just seen the child the day before. So I call the school, and the information is confirmed. I am in shock, then I was told to turn on the news. Now I’m confused. What happened? I ask. I’m told again turn on the news. I put on the TV and there is the face I see everyday, speak to, hear her voice in the hallways, or her laugh. My next emotion was pain. She was murdered.. stabbed to be exact by her mother’s boyfriend over 20 times. I can’t even put into words what I feel. I still can’t. What makes this situation unique is because I happen to work in my son’s school so not only do I have a special relationship with him, I have relationships with a lot of his friends and other kids.

How do you explain something like this to a child? As an adult I don’t even understand it. There are so many questions that are now left unanswered, so many things that could have been. Emonee was a bright girl, full of life and full of spunk. She was mature in a lot of ways, in some ways more than girls older than her.  I am glad I never shut her out. I am happy that my door was always open for her and anyone else that wants to walk in. I will miss her laugh, I will miss the questions she would love to ask me about love and boys, I will miss seeing her argue with her friends and making up 5 minutes later. 

I treasure these things with a heavy heart, but I am thankful.I wish I could write more but I physically can’t put 2 sentences together at the moment. I promise to keep you informed about my efforts to continue helping children and keeping Emonee’s spirit alive. If you have not read the tragic details of this story  you can read the story here http://www.nytimes.com/2010/05/22/nyregion/22stab.html

Love Your Children and Others

DivaMomNYC

1 Response to "Sad Inspiration. . . . ."

I am so sorry for your loss, and for your son, as well as the family of that little girl. The tragedy is heart-wrenching, and even worse, for your son to find out via Facebook…

My heart and prayers go out to you all in this time of sorrow.

Leave a Reply

Follow the DIva

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

